Comprehensive Plan Update Review Committee


  • 5 p.m.
  • 1st and 3rd Thursday of each month (typically, but can differ due to Holidays)
  • Littlefield Meeting Room, 2nd Floor at Town Hall, 208 Sanford Road

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.
View Most Recent Agenda (PDF) I View All Agendas and Minutes

Committee Members 2015-2016

The Committee first met in August 2015 and last met in September 2016. 
  • Carol Simpson
  • Charles Anderson
  • Edmond Pare
  • Kathy Chase
  • Luke Guerrette
  • Rocky Furman

Town Staff


The Board of Selectmen as part of the process to update the 2005 Wells Comprehensive Plan established an internal Comprehensive Plan Update Review Committee to review and provide comments and guidance to staff undertaking the plan update compilation and strategy and to obtain public comments.

While that was its primary purpose, the Scope of Work also included:

  • Review and comment on the written materials and format that the Town Consultant / staff have established for the Update Plan.
  • Develop a strategy to market the Comprehensive Plan to obtain public comments.
  • Oversee the obtaining of public and State comments and further updating to the plan to reflect those changes.
  • Prepare a report to the Board of Selectmen with a recommendation of "Readiness" to commence to a Town Meeting Vote on the Updated Plan.

The Committee consisted of seven (7) members: a Selectmen liaison, Planning Board member, Zoning Board member, Budget Committee member, Conservation Commission member and two citizens. The Committee was staffed by the Town Planner / Engineer, CEO and Town Manager along with the Town's Attorney. Citizens applied to serve on the Committee. Terms of office for citizen representatives was one year. The Committee reported regularly on its activities to the Board of Selectmen and sought the Town Manager's approval for the expenditure of any funds. The committee's term was until June 30, 2016 but was extended to September 2016 by the Selectmen.