According to State law, all dogs kept within the State of Maine must be licensed. An owner of a dog that is 6 months of age or older and lives in Wells must obtain a license from the Town Clerk’s Office between October 15th and December 31st each year.
The fee to license your dog is $11.00 if your dog is intact or $6.00 if the dog has been spayed or neutered.
When you come into license your dog (s), you must bring proof from a veterinarian that the dog has received a rabies vaccine. Also, if you are licensing the dog for the first time and the dog has been spayed or neutered, you must bring with you the dog’s Certificate of neuter or spay that was provided by the veterinarian.
If you apply for a dog license after January 31st, a late fee of $25.00 (in addition to the annual license fee) will be charged per dog.
So don’t wait until the last minute – come now. The Town Clerk’s hours are Monday through Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
If that is not convenient, you may also register your dog(s) in the following way:
Mail your current rabies and neuter/spay certificates with a 70 cent S.A.S.E. to:
208 Sanford Road,
Wells, Maine 04090.
Please make your check out to Town of Wells.
If you no longer have you dog please let us know.
Any questions please call 207-646-2882